They Called Me Mrs. David Bowie @bust_magazine

 

A tribute to the Starman:

…I bought an album with a cartoon cover, that included songs like “Please Mister Gravedigger,” “The Laughing Gnome,” “The Little Bombardier,” and “The Maid from Bond Street.” The music is odd, and quirky, very musical theater, and upon reflection, almost Brechtian. This was his first studio album, and I fell in love with the stories he told, long before the grand entrance of Ziggy Stardust and Major Tom. But most importantly, I saw that I could build my own identity; as fluid as I chose. I could be feminine and masculine. I could redefine female. I could be an artist and a poet, too.

Read the whole essay here.

Leave a Reply

